Mermaid Avenue, Volume II
by Billy Bragg and Wilco
Available at the Woody Guthrie Store

In this second volume of material, Billy Bragg and Wilco explore Woody's previously unheard lyrics, taking us in new and ever more revealing directions.  "My Flying Saucer" and "Joe DiMaggio Done It Again" place Woody smack dab in Coney Island in the late 40's.  Perhaps watching the lit skies above the beach one night, or overhearing the local conversation while lingering on a street corner, Woody remains true to his journalistic approach.  Yet, all the while twisting the information into his own voice and retelling it with his own message. 

Some darker themes are also explored.  With "Meanest Man", Woody reveals an anger held in check by the goodness he feels in the people around him and "Feed of Man" is an outrage against greed and professed righteousness. Billy, as always, takes on the fascists in "All you Fascists" (watch out, guys!) and Wilco always seem to hone in on the beauty of Woody's love songs.  "Remember the Mountain Bed" evokes such sensual images it's no wonder it wasn't recorded by Woody himself who was often accused of pornography because his lyrics were so expressly, and exquisitely clear!

Some of these tunes came out of the original Dublin sessions recorded in 1998.  But, following their work on Mermaid Avenue I, Wilco decided to come back tot he Archives and search around some more.  They went back to Chicago to record "Secret of the Sea", the single from the album, among others, adding the new musical direction to their previous style.

Oh, by the way.  Who's the cat?  That's actually a photo taken by Woody of a neighborhood friend.  If you look over his shoulder, the apartment next to the corner store is where the Guthrie's lived on the first floor.  The corner store had a soda fountain and tables where Woody often sat with a cup of coffee, and wrote while checking out the street scene from the plate glass window.   Perhaps that's where he heard someone across the street yell, "Hey, Joe DiMaggio's done it again!"


1. Airline to Heaven
2. My Flying Saucer
3. Feed of Man
4. Hot Rod Hotel
5. I Was Born
6. Secret of the Sea
7. Stetson Kennedy
8. Remember the Mountain Bed
9. Blood of the Lamb
10. Against Th' Law
11. All You Fascists
12. Joe Dimaggio Done It Again
13. Meanest Man
14. Black Wind Blowing
15. Someday Some Morning Sometime

See also:

Mermaid Avenue: Vol. I

Mermaid Avenue: The Complete Sessions


125-131 E. Main Street, Suite #200 | Mt. Kisco, NY 10549
T: (914) 241-3844 | E: info(at)woodyguthrie.org

Copyright 2001-2020, Woody Guthrie Publications, Inc.
Site design by Anna Canoni.